Aerroenu’s Vacation in Eorzea

As I mentioned in earlier blog entries, I went and bought the limited edition of Final Fantasy XIV.  During the days I could afford the time to play, I’ve been trying to play FFXIV.

This is how I originally wanted Aerro’s hair to be like: black that fades into a clay-like brown, like my hair once did in-real-life.  Of course, Final Fantasy XI didn’t allow color changes to hair, so I picked the next best thing: blonde with red tips.

FFXIV was promising.

Everything took a while to get used to.  I initially forced myself to keep playing despite the massive hurdles I encountered, including system restores, reinstalls, and the infamous “crash upon startup” issue.

Once those hurdles were jumped, I had a great time working on the initial quests for Gridania (where Aerroenu Odin started with Xiahou Odin) and Ul’dah (where my dark and “exotic”, as Xiahou puts it, Elezen began his story).  I had my moments when I was rather frustrated that you couldn’t zoom out from your map like in FFXI.  But, once those quests were done, Xiahou and I looked at each other and went, “… now, what? (o.o)” Aside of guildleves and crafts, we couldn’t figure out what else to do.

I also missed seeing tails on the Roegadyn, FFXIV’s equivalent of FFXI’s Galka. :(

However, the greatest damper on both Xiahou’s and my experience was this:

Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel (R) Core (TM) i7 CPU2     M 620 @ 2.67GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4870

Score: 985
Load Time: 36208 ms

[Under 1500] Insufficient Performance
Does not meet specifications for running the game.

(o_______________o)

That’s right: FFXIV’s Benchmark says that my system, which was made from some of the best parts during the first half of this year, is not fit to run FFXIV.  It was pretty apparent: I could run into an area, see no NPCs or PCs, walk off to make myself a cup of tea, warm up some food, or use the restroom before everything in the area loaded up.  the game would run smoothly at first, but time went by, the game got choppier…

And choppier…

And choppier…

And choppier.

Honestly, the only reason that Aerroenu’s little vacation into Eorzea is shorter than the free one-month trial is because of how choppy and slow the game gets.  It’s really disappointing.  If it weren’t for all that, I think I would have honestly paid for both FFXIV and FFXI.

For now, though, it’s back to Vana’diel, and crafting, and gardening, and fishing, and trying to get myself to quit crafting and fishing so that I can go EXPing.

As Kielee would say: :)~

Edit (10-01-2010):  Oh, yeah, I’m playing on a laptop.

~ by aerroenu on September 30, 2010.

3 Responses to “Aerroenu’s Vacation in Eorzea”

  1. Using a dedicated video card on the laptop, or is it just shared with system memory? I think that would be your biggest culprit there.

  2. Sorry, it’s a dedicated video card on a laptop. Guess I should have mentioned I’m playing on my laptop. (>_<)

  3. Hey idk if you remember me but it’s Cygnus >.>
    if you ever decide to come back to xiv you guys should come to Trabia! and look up Exiled Savior!

Leave a Reply

 
