On This Day, Five Years Ago…

I began playing FFXI. (=o)

That, and Elmer’s recents post about online addiction (FFXI – The Leading Cause of Zombie-ism) brought to memory my experience with MMORPGs.  FFXI was the first MMORPG I ever played, and pretty much the only one for over a year (or more? I don’t remember).  It was also where I, myself, experienced online addiction.  \(O.O)/

I could go on a long spiel about it.  However, it’s a pretty personal story, and not worth retelling.  In a nutshell, yeah, I did suffer from internet addiction.  No, I’m not as addicted as I used to be; I have forgone playing on some nights because I was too tired or wanted to do something else.  Do I regret ever playing FFXI?  I sometimes do, but I have no idea if I would be happily in a relationship or as (relatively) independent as I am now.  So, that makes me half not regret letting that happen.

It definitely takes an epiphemy or sudden enlightment to realize, “Hey, I am addicted, and I need to lay it off”.  Of course, people always try to help, but so true to human nature, “you can only help those who want to be helped”.

~ by aerroenu on July 7, 2009.

2 Responses to “On This Day, Five Years Ago…”

  1. Congrats!

  2. I know the feeling.

Leave a Reply

 
